The Independent Appeals Panel members were recruited by the statutory watchdog organisations, Transport Focus and London TravelWatch. They were appointed on 6th April 2018, in line with the Railways (Penalty Fares) Regulations 2018, and will consider 3rd stage appeals against Penalty Fare Notices issued by Train Operating Companies (excluding Transport for London). The panel members are totally independent of the Appeals Service and the Train Companies.

Transport for London have their own Independent Appeals Panel, further details can be obtained directly from Transport for London.

Panel Members

Vicky Smith
Victoria Smith qualified as a solicitor over 20 years ago. During this time has been an advisor to Magistrates in the Magistrates' Court and also practiced both civil and criminal law. She is currently involved in regulatory law sitting on a number of Panels considering Fitness to Practise matters.
Karen McArthur
Karen Mc Arthur has focused on promoting the customer and stakeholder voice within large global companies, encouraging business to act in an ethical and sustainable way. She now works with a range of regulatory organisations promoting public and consumer protection.
Paul Reilly
Paul Reilly has spent most of his working career in Financial Services. For over 20 years he performed operational management roles for Barclays Bank and The Bank of New York Mellon. And for the past five years he has worked as an Ombudsman for the Financial Ombudsman Service deciding complaints on a range of financial matters including Payment Protection Insurance, Packaged Bank Accounts and Short Term Lending.
Carole Clark
Carole Clark has worked in senior roles in complaint resolution since 2004, firstly in social care and housing, and currently as a Financial Ombudsman.